Maintaining Friendships After School

Today I am lucky enough to have three women in my life who are the most amazing support systems, advice givers and gossip queens – I call them my best friends. I know they are always there for me through thick and thin, no matter how far apart we may be. I’ve been very close with these women for about 6 or 7 years, and one whom I’ve known for around 14 years. Throughout my childhood I have many memories of my Mum catching up with her girlfriends. Whether that be a BBQ, going out to lunch or camping trips on holidays. Even after so many years, along with marriages, new jobs and kids, they always find time to catch up, at least once a year. I hope I can continue to do this with my friends too.
Before 2011, while I was still at school I never belonged to a group, I was a floater. I was kind-of friends with a lot of different people and just shifted year to year. It wasn’t until my last two years of school that I found a group of friends who I just clicked with. After we left school we all began travelling along our chosen paths but we’d always make sure we caught up often. It wasn’t until I was out of school that I realised, I was only friends with some people because I saw them 5 days a week. Once you leave school, you lose that connection. In the almost 3 and a half years I’ve had many people come in and go out of my life. I’ve gone to uni (that wasn’t for me but that’s another story), I’ve resigned from a job but also started a new one (which I love!) and I’ve begun studying again. There has been so many variables in the past few years but my best friends have always been constant. 
I’ll be honest, just like any relationship, friendships take work. You can’t just expect things to fall in your lap, you have to work hard, just like with any aspect of life. When one of my best friends moved to Sydney in January it was a massive adjustment for me. I’m so used to her being just around the corner and it’s been about 2 months since I’ve seen her. Thank goodness for FaceTime and mobile phones hey?! In fact, it has been a few months since we’ve all gotten together and let’s be real, it sucks. The word that comes to mind at the moment is alone. I’ve felt alone the last few months. Yes, I’ve got my partner, family and friends around, but a girl needs her besties. I hope I’m not the only person that struggles with this but who knows? 
I’m no expert but I believe if you keep in contact, make plans and cherish your time together you’re always going to have a friendship that lasts a lifetime, throughout life’s many ups and downs, they’ll always be there.
So, how do you maintain your close friendships after school? Leave a comment below, I’d love to hear from you!
– A. 

2 thoughts on “Maintaining Friendships After School

  1. Pita says:

    As someone who has enjoyed 30 years of friendship with your mum, I hope you enjoy that with your friends too. Real friendship never dies, it just picks up where it leaves off – but you do have to see eachother a few times a year to keep it going! Might be time for you to start planning a weekend to Sydney….

    Like

Leave a Reply

