My future aspirations – Work and career

All throughout high school I was so sure of what I was going to do when I left school. I was going to graduate, get the OP I wanted, go to Uni to study Education, become a teacher and then go from there. For those who know me today, you all know I’m in a completely different situation, and I’m loving it!
After I graduated high school in 2012 I was on the right track to go to Uni. I got an OP 6, I got into the course I wanted (Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Education – Secondary) and was so excited to be a “real adult”. In 2013 I studied a variety of different subjects. I was majoring in English and Japanese so I was studying beginner’s Japanese courses, a variety of English courses and modern Education subjects. When I first started going to Uni I was so nervous! I had no idea what I was doing, I was flying by the seat of my pants, which I hate, I like everything planned and organised. Even though I met so many wonderful people while at Uni, some whom I still consider myself friends with, as each month of 2013 passed by I found myself enjoying Uni less and less. Little things were starting to annoy me, things like driving to and from St. Lucia, then deciding to take the bus (which isn’t always reliable), exams, timetables, useless assignments etc. etc. In 2014 I found it really hard to go back after Christmas holidays. I didn’t have a passion for it, and when you’re doing something you’re not passionate about, you don’t do your best work.
In about March 2014 I sat down with my Mum to chat about how I was feeling and she suggested Early Childhood Education. I briefly considered just changing the degree I was studying but after weighing up the pro’s and con’s I decided to drop out of uni. I said to myself, “If I can get a job before starting my Certificate III in Early Childhood Education and Care, I’ll drop out of Uni.” Long story short, I began applying for jobs Sunday morning, Sunday afternoon a centre contacted me, I went in for a trial shift and I’m still at that centre today. Since March 2014, I have completed my Certificate III and am now studying my Diploma as a traineeship. I love going to work everyday and despite the fact I get sick pretty much every second week, I wouldn’t change a thing. In the past two years I have never regretted leaving Uni. I work with such wonderful ladies and have learnt a world of knowledge from them.
I’ve been thinking lately about what I’d like to do in the future and I definitely think I’ll go back to Uni, but not to study Education. I’ll stay in childcare for a while yet, that’s for sure, but I could see myself doing something along the lines of Communication/Marketing/Event Management/Office Work. I’m not entirely sure what I want to do but I’ve definitely got some growing and exploring to do before I even think of returning to study at Uni. I want to get married, have kids and buy a house before anything else. I’ve never been the type to put my career before my personal life, and I don’t intend to change that aspect of my personality. Who knows where I’ll be in 5, 10 or even 20 years from now. All I know is that I’m excited.
If you’re interested in subscribing to my page, just press follow and you’ll receive an email whenever I post so you’ll never miss a thing! I really appreciated all your support on the last post (Moving out of home – the big step – if you missed it) so I thought I’d quickly update you all. Unfortunately we got turned down another three times *insert sad face here*, so this week we put another two applications in and we’ll see how we go.
Lots of Love,

-A.

5 thoughts on “My future aspirations – Work and career

  1. Corrina Steele says:

    Hey Ash, lucky you applied to such an awesome boss who was partial to Genesis girls and loved you from the moment I met you. It was an absolute pleasure to have you on staff and glad you are still so happy there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

