Weekend Adventures!

Hello lovely friends! Hope you’ve had a wonderful weekend! Just thought I’d share a few things I got up to this weekend!

 

Saturday morning started off with a much-needed sleep-in! After being sick (yes, again) this week and not being able to sleep properly due to being all congested and coughing a bit, a 7.30 am sleep-in was blissful! After a scrumptious breakfast made by yours truly – scrambled eggs with mushrooms and tomatoes, it was time to get ready for work! Normally I don’t work weekends but we had a rehearsal this weekend to get ready for our display’s this year. Everyone did such a fabulous job and I’m so proud to work with such talented students and amazing staff.

 

Once the rehearsal finished I quickly ducked home to get ready for dinner. But as I looked down at my feet to put my heels on I realised I’m seriously overdue for a pedicure, eek! (Hint, hint Mum! Mother-daughter date soon?) It’s my partner’s 22nd birthday this Tuesday – cue Taylor Swift ‘I’m feeling 22!’ so I organised a few of our wonderful friends to join us at Ashmore Steak and Seafood as a surprise to enjoy an early birthday dinner all together. It was a wonderful evening and the food, like always, was delicious. Thank you to our lovely friends for driving all the way down to the Gold Coast! We really appreciate it!

 

This morning we picked up our fruit and veg at the Caboolture Markets again and then we came home and I made Zucchini and Sweet Potato Slice. Every now and then I like to make up a recipe as I go along and this one turned out so well that even my partner ate it. You may not think this is much but when we first met he barely ate any veggies at all and now I’ve got him eating zucchini and sweet potato?! Woo hoo! I used purple sweet potato in mine but you could substitute any vegetable really. Here’s the recipe if you’d like to make it yourself!

 

Ingredients

1 bunch spring onions, sliced

2 zucchini, grated

1 medium sweet potato, grated

1 handful of kale, roughly chopped

1 tbsp garlic granules

1/4 cup flour

1/3 cup grated cheese, plus extra to sprinkle on top

4 eggs, beaten

Salt and pepper to taste

 

Method

  1. Combine spring onions, zucchini and sweet potato in a mixing bowl.
  2. Sprinkle in flour, cheese and garlic and mix until well combined.
  3. Pour in beaten eggs and season with salt and pepper.
  4. Mix all ingredients together and then spoon into a greased baking tin and top with grated cheese.
  5. Cook for 40 minutes in an oven set to 180°.
  6. Let cool completely and then cut into slices.

 

IMG_0993

 

So there’s some of my lunches/snacks for the week! After that we went and did our grocery shopping and now it’s time to do some washing and study. Hope you’ve all had a chance to relax this weekend! What did you get up to?

 

Lot’s of love,

-A.

2 thoughts on “Weekend Adventures!

Leave a Reply

