My busy, busy week!

Hello lovely friends! Sorry about the late post, as you can tell from the title I’ve been a bit busy!

 

This week I worked the full five days, which I haven’t done for a while. I usually work four days, which is manageable and doesn’t leave me exhausted at the end of the week. If you didn’t already know, I work two jobs which basically total full-time hours, but I generally have a day off to do study or housework, even though I should use it to relax. Five days was a bit of a jump, but I really appreciate any extra money I can get as it all goes into saving for a house! Eeek! I feel old saying that! I’ve been non-stop all week! I had a massage on Monday which was absolutely wonderful and definitely needed and then a doctor’s appointment on Friday morning all in between working.

 

I finally have some answers to part of the gut problems I’ve been having. I also had an ultrasound on my abdominal organs on Wednesday before work and something came up on my liver. It’s not too major and it’s just very early stages, but I have ‘Fatty Liver Disease’. From what I can gather, my liver is absorbing fat from my intestine and storing it. Funnily enough it’s actually not from eating a high-fat diet (which I don’t anyway). My Doctor said it had something to do with the sugars in the carbohydrates I was eating turning into fat and being stored in the liver. Which is very, very bad but it can be improved! Thank goodness. So not all bad news. The only bad news is I pretty much have to cut out all carbs. Good-bye bread, pasta, rice, potato, crackers, oats… *insert sad face* But, if I don’t fix it now, it’s only going to get worse and I certainly don’t want that. I am so relieved I finally have some answers as to why I struggle to lose weight and why I hold so much of my weight around my stomach. And I’m so glad I have the solution to help fix it!

 

This weekend has also been super busy! After helping a mate out yesterday morning, we headed to Kmart to pick up a few things. I swear our house is at least 50% Kmart, who else feels the same? I bought the softest and most snuggliest pink dressing gown, which I’m currently wearing while typing this, a stick mixer and a hoodie for me (partly so I stop stealing my darling partners jumpers and partly because it was on sale for $15) Ha ha! We needed to buy the stick mixer because I can’t have potato anymore so I’m substituting potato for cauliflower and to mash cauliflower you need the stick mixer or a food processor. We really don’t have the room for a food processor in our little house so we settled for a $35 stick mixer that also had a chopper and whisk attachment. Score! Saturday night took us to a family friend’s 21st for a quick stop in and then out to dinner. We went to Hog’s Breath – gotta love a good steak! I was even a good girl and didn’t get any curly fries! Seriously testing out my willpower with this whole no carbs deal. We then picked up a take-home pack from Baskin Robbins to enjoy this week.

 

As always, we got up early to go to the markets to get our fruit and veggies but before we got there I had a good belly laugh to start the day. You know that ice-cream I mentioned just before? Well guess where it was sitting this morning. You would think the freezer right? It wasn’t in there. I then opened the fridge to have some water with the daily vitamins I take, and there’s the tub, sitting on the top shelf of the fridge. He sure is a goofball sometimes!

IMG_1155

 

We picked up our fruit and veg from the markets like usual. We got a bit more than usual this week for two reasons. 1. I was making a fruit platter for this afternoon and 2. I now have to eat a lot more low carb veggies. So therefore, we spent a bit more than normal and got a free pineapple for it! Only at the markets hey! We then came home and cleaned the house and I also did a bit of study before we had some lovely friends come over. It was a wonderful and calm afternoon and thankfully the weather held off  until just as they were leaving! I don’t think there’s a better way to spend a Sunday afternoon than sitting around a table with an assortment of nibblies, a drink in your hand and surrounded by friends. Am I right?

 

Thankfully, this post was much more upbeat than last week! I know everyone has their ups and downs but I really don’t want this blog to be full of sadness, I want it to be happy and full of love! Hope you all had a wonderful week and don’t forget to keep an eye out for the third instalment of Mid-week Matters! I have a delicious recipe to share with you! Hopefully I remember to take some photos before eating it for breakfast tomorrow! If you missed last week’s post click the link, My Mental and Physical Health or if you missed Mid-week Matters #2, it’s there to have a read.

 

Until next time,

 

-A.

Leave a Reply

