Mid-week Matters #4

Happy hump day everyone! It’s getting closer to the weekend again! Yahoo! This week I’m particularly excited because my best friend who moved down to Sydney in January is coming back up for her 21st and I get to catch up with my three wonderful school friends. I’m so incredibly excited! I miss them all so much! 
This week I decided to make a frittata for my breakfast dish of the week. I had lots of extra veggies laying around so I sliced them up and made up my own recipe like always! This one is a vegetarian dish but you can add your choice of meat for a bit of extra protein. 

Pumpkin, Zucchini and Mushroom Frittata


Ingredients 

500g Pumpkin

8 mushrooms 

3 Zucchini 

8 eggs 

Garlic granules 

Grated cheese

3 spring onions 

Method 

1. Slice pumpkin into slices approximately half a centimeter thick. Save half for the second layer. Layer the pumpkin, slightly overlapping, into a greased round pie dish. 
2. Next, dice the mushrooms and sprinkle over the top of the pumpkin. 
3. Slice zucchini to the same thickness and layer, slightly overlapping again, until the mushrooms are completely covered. 
4. Layer the rest of the pumpkin over the zucchini and sprinkle with garlic granules. If you have any leftover zucchini, place them decoratively around the top. 
5. Beat the eggs and pour over the vegetables. You may need to slightly adjust the ingredients depending on how big or small your dish is. 
6. Sprinkle the cheese over the vegetables and egg. Roughly chop the spring onions and sprinkle over the cheese. 
7. Bake in a 180 degrees oven for 40 minutes, or until the vegetables are soft and the egg is cooked through. 
8. Let the frittata cool and slice into 8 pieces. 

Enjoy! This is probably my favourite breakfast dish I’ve made so far. Of course, like always, you can adjust the ingredients to suit your taste. Maybe you could use sweet potato or eggplant? Give it a try! 
I just want to quickly say a massive thank you for your support on the social media pages this week! I am so very appreciative and I can’t wait to see where this takes me! 
Keep an eye out this Sunday for my  next post! Stay safe! 
-A. 

Leave a Reply

