Be Yourself.

People tell you to “be yourself” all the time. You’re nervous about an interview, “Just be yourself, they’ll love you” or your meeting someone for a first date, “Be yourself.” But what does “yourself” mean? If you asked me to describe myself, I honestly wouldn’t be able to. I would just use words other people have used to describe me. Words like, kind, caring, nurturing, forgiving, indecisive and loud come to mind. But they are just words other people have used to describe me at some point in my life. Is it because I’m indecisive, or is it because I believe people change and evolve every day. I can’t say that I know myself, because I feel like I don’t.

 

I change every day. Some days I’m happy, some days I’m grumpy and some (most) days I am also tired. I am not the same person I was yesterday, and I’m going to be a different person tomorrow. People change. People grow. People develop. It’s a part of life. But how can you learn to know yourself if you change every day. Is knowing yourself understanding your core values? Is knowing yourself describing your personality? I honestly have no idea. (If you know, tell me!) All I believe is, to love yourself you need to accept yourself, and to accept yourself you need to know yourself.

 

I guess this is a hurdle I have faced this week on my journey to loving myself. I can’t fully love myself until I have gotten to know myself. It’s really hard to keep track of the day-to-day changes the world around you either forces or encourages you to make. One day it just hit me that I have changed. I am a completely different person to who I was a year ago or even a week ago. I have changed for the better. I am stronger, I am more becoming more independent, I have been forced to make decisions that not only affect me, but people around me and I have learnt so many valuable lessons. That’s life. You learn from your mistakes and you grow from there.

 

I want to love myself. It’s mostly an appearance issue. I know I am a wonderful person on the inside, but to be honest, I don’t love the outside. I love bits of it, and I like most of it. But I don’t love myself completely and intrinsically. I know and accept that I am on the journey to loving myself, I just need to pull myself out of my negative slump. I know that exercise always makes me feel better and that is why I went on two massive walks this weekend. I feel so wonderful for doing that. When I acknowledge that I have taken steps to care for myself, that is when I love myself. When I know I am doing everything I can to help and improve myself, that is when I am happy.

 

How do you love yourself? Did you have to overcome any challenges along the way? Let me know in the comments! I’d love to talk with other people about it. If you haven’t already, don’t forget to do The Bear and Me’s Love Yourself Challenge on Instagram. All you need to do is post a photo of yourself, write three things you love about your body, use the hashtag #tbamloveyourself and then tag three friends to pass it on! I really want to see more people getting involved. It makes me feel so happy when the love is shared!

 

Until next time!

 

-A.

2 thoughts on “Be Yourself.

  1. Ay says:

    This is a very interesting post. I learnt to be myself around people when i moved out of my family home. I no longer hold back my slightly weird nature. I say what i want to say, i act how i want to act. I dont try tp put on a show to please other people (at least not any more) and if they dont like it, then tough because that is me and i am not going to change. Thank you dor writing this, it was very interesting to read. X

    Like

Leave a Reply

