Mid-week Matters #7

Hello my lovelies! Hope you are having a wonderful week! This week I wanted to share with you the makeup products I love using everyday. I am very simple when it comes to day-to-day make up, so usually its nothing special. I work in childcare so there is no need for me to have a full face of make up even if I did have the time! These six products, as pictured above I use pretty much every day on top of either my Sukin Sensitive Facial Moisturiser or more recently, I have been using the L’Oreal Skin Perfection Correcting Day Moisturiser. I love moisturising my skin, I swear I have a moisturiser for most parts of my body! Some days I will wake up and put the Sukin Moisturiser on and then before doing my makeup I’ll put the L’Oreal one on top if my skin is feeling extra dry. At the moment, because it’s been quite windy and cold in Brisbane I’ve been using both products. I also have a moisturiser for my face at night, a rosehip oil for scarring and moisturiser/cream for my arms, hands, décolletage and then just an all over one too. I can’t go without putting them on after my shower, my skin just feels tight and scaly otherwise. Some of you are probably thinking, who’s got the time to moisturise twice a day, well I make time because I LOVE how my skin feels afterwards. I will link all the products I use so you can check them out for yourselves!

 

13662392_10154282723327243_987035796_o

 

Anyway, on to makeup! I use the L’Oreal Infallible Compact Powder in the shade Warm Sand. As far as I can see there is only four shades in this range, which really isn’t much but it works for me because they actually have a shade dark enough for me. I was using the Australis Fresh and Flawless Face Powder, but their darkest shade, which funnily enough is called Darkest Brown, was not dark enough for my skin tone. This powder is a long-wearing formula that isn’t supposed to fade or transfer. I do find on some days that the powder does fade, but that doesn’t surprise me with the amount I sweat in Summer. It provides really good coverage and when you use it over liquid foundation to set the product, it doesn’t turn cakey.

 

Next is blush! I have been using this blush for at least two to three years now and I still haven’t hit pan. It is the Milani Baked Blush in Luminoso. Yes, I know Luminoso became a massively popular product with the likes of Lauren Curtis and Jaclyn Hill raving about it, but they aren’t wrong. This blush just compliments my face and makes it look young and fresh. It is a BEAUTIFUL colour and the formula is so pigmented. Because it is a baked blush, it makes my skin so radiant and glowing. Also, I have just found out all but one of their shades is also vegan. The only shade that isn’t vegan is Red Vino. I understand that having a makeup product be vegan isn’t make or break for most people, I just thought I would share that little fact for the people that are looking for a good quality blush that is also vegan.  Definitely check them out because they are also really affordable.

 

The product I use every single time to do my contour or bronzing is the Hoola Matte Bronzer by Benefit Cosmetics. I got this as a Christmas present in 2013 I think, and I use it seriously every day and I only hit pan last year and I still have heaps left. There is so much product in this bronzer and it just lasts and lasts. I love that it is a matte formula, meaning that there is no shimmer or sparkle in it. I find because I naturally have quite hydrated skin, if I put too many shimmery products on my skin, I tend to look a bit oily and sweaty, which I hate. I have tried to use other bronzers and contour powders from other brands but none of them match up to the formula and application of Hoola. It goes on so smooth and I have never had it go patchy. It is also really easy to blend out for a more natural look.

 

13621804_10154282723372243_950300372_o

 

I recently purchased two palettes from BH Cosmetics. I got the Carli Bybel Palette and the Missy Lynn Palette. The Missy Lynn Palette has slightly deeper colours, more suitable for a night-time look. The Carli Bybel Palette is at the moment, my holy grail palette. It has so many beautiful golden/brown shades and it’s just so gorgeous! The eyeshadows are so super creamy and easy to blend and the pigment, oh my goodness! Amazing! This palette also has 4 highlighter shades. I use the middle two the most as the one on the far left is too light for my skin and makes me look like the tin man. The far left shade however is a beautiful inner eye corner highlight! It just makes my eyes pop! The shade on the far right is just slightly too dark for me to use as a cheekbone highlight, I use it as a shimmer shade on my eyelid instead. I cannot say enough amazing things about this palette! It is so incredibly beautiful and if you are looking for a good quality palette with versatility and usable shades, this is the one for you!

 

I have used plenty of different mascara’s over the years but the one I always go back to is the Rimmel Wonder’Full Mascara with Argan Oil. This mascara has such a smooth, clump free formula because it is infused with Argan Oil. It glides on so easily, and it encases the lash from root to tip. The mascara doesn’t leave that ‘crunchy’ feeling that most mascara’s do when they dry which is so good for my eyes. Also it is a breeze to take off, but doesn’t transfer unless in contact with water or makeup remover. There is no fall out or smudging whatsoever. The wand itself is very flexible and doesn’t hold copious amounts of product, so you don’t need to ever worry about having too much on your lashes, or getting that really annoying black dot on your nose. Does anyone else ever get that when putting on mascara? This mascara provides the perfect combination of volume and length and I just love, love, love it!

 

Lastly, the brows! Let me just start out by saying I have really dark eyebrows. My hair is a very, very dark brown so finding a brow product that is actually dark enough was a struggle. That is, until I found the Revlon ColorStay Eyebrow Liner. This is the only eyebrow product that matches my eyebrows and makes them stay where they are supposed to. I use the shade Dark Brown and I think the only other shade is Blonde. So, not much range colour wise, but if you have really dark eyebrows like me, try this liner! It has a spooly on one end so you can brush through and shape your brows, and on the other end is the retractable pencil with a quick-drying and long-lasting liner formula. I love that this product includes the spooly because 1. It’s convenient and it’s one less brush I have to pack and 2. Sometimes I’m a little heavy-handed, so it’s nice to be able to brush through the brow again after applying it.

 

So there you go! The six makeup products I use everyday! What makeup do you use everyday? Or what is your holy grail product? Let me know in the comments, I’d love to give them a try!

 

Lots of Love,

 

-A.

 

 

One thought on “Mid-week Matters #7

Leave a Reply

