Mid-week Matters #9

Happy Hump Day everyone! Hope you’re all having a wonderful week! Over the weekend I purchased 5 new lip products that I can’t wait to share with you! Yes, I was supposed to be buying my friend’s 21st present but I may have gotten sidetracked… Plus all of these products were on some sort of sale or markdown so hi-5 to me! Don’t worry, I also bought the present…

 

13838420_10154323535932243_1268436118_o

The three lipsticks I bought swatched so beautifully!

 

The first two products I am going to talk about are from the Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick range. They are the bottom two colours in the picture above. The middle colour is ‘Blushing Nude’ and it is the perfect nude coloured lipstick for my skin tone. I find the nude lipsticks that are more yellow toned and a lighter shade look like I just have applied foundation over my lips. I generally choose colours similar to this for my everyday lip colour, the ‘my lip colour but better’ shade. Blushing Nude is a rosey-nude shade that has such a beautiful creamy formula. I love it! The second colour I purchased from this range is ‘Fire and Ice’ and it is the red shade at the bottom of the picture. I have tried over and over again to find a red lipstick that has an orange undertone that doesn’t look weird against my skin colour, or make my teeth look yellow – Eeek! It’s quite easy for me to find a classic red with blue undertones as most suit my skin tone, I just find that they can be too dark or intense for daytime wear. Fire and Ice is the perfect red colour that is suitable for both day and night-time looks and it’s sits just perfectly between a “classic red” and a neon orange. I wore it on Saturday night and I loved it. The picture below is of me wearing Fire and Ice. I love Revlon lipsticks, they are such amazing quality, it’s even better when they are 40% off! If I feel like spoiling myself, I tend to buy Revlon just because the formula and colour range is so much better.

 

13646914_10154323557697243_784805179_o

 

Excuse the poor quality, it is just an iPhone selfie after all. Speaking of which, does anyone have any recommendations for small digital cameras that take nice, clear photos? What do you use or recommend? I really want to start sharing better/higher quality photographs instead of crappy iPhone ones.

 

The next product I bought was an absolute bargain! While I was in Priceline they had a product bin at the end of the aisle full of Australis products that were marked down to just $1. This lipstick is from their Colour Inject range. It is a moisturising mineral lipstick and after looking at their website just now, this product is also not tested on animals (Bonus!) Unfortunately though, I cannot find the shade I purchased, I’m assuming that is because it is from an old range. The shade I bought is ‘Electro’ and it is a bright orange. I don’t normally go for orange lipsticks, or any colour out of the ordinary for that matter but for $1, I thought why not? I actually really like the colour on me, it’s different and exciting and the formula is super opaque! They have a huge range of colours in their new range, definitely worth a look.

 

Lastly I bought two products from Burt’s Bees. For a long time I was a Lucas’ Paw Paw Ointment girl at heart but ever since trying some Burt’s Bees products I’ve been hooked! These lip balms never go all crusty and leave white marks around your mouth. They are just super moisturising and smell so damn good! The two products I bought are from their Tinted Lip Balm range. They are a 100% natural product, which I love! It just gives you that hint of colour if you have a little or no make up on, or if you are going for a minimal look. I purchased the shades ‘Rose’ and ‘Hibiscus’ and have worn them numerous times already. I got these two shades reduced down to $8 each from $13 at Target. Side note: I just looked at their website and they currently have 20% off face and body care which ends on the 31st of July. Go check it out!

 

That’s all from me today! Hope you have a wonderful rest of your week and I’ll be back on Sunday!

 

-A.

Leave a Reply

