5 Things I Do To Relax

Firstly, I am so very sorry this post is later than usual but I’ve had a super busy Sunday and this is the first chance I’ve had to sit down and write all weekend.  If you have been following me for a while you will know anxiety is something I struggle with on a daily basis but if this is your first time reading, surprise, I have anxiety. Sorry that was a bit blunt. I have accepted that I have anxiety though so I’m pretty open about it all. I have written about my anxiety in more detail on previous posts so click the link to check it out. Anyway. Let’s move on! 
The five following things I do to relax are essential in keeping me sane, not losing my shit at everything and basically just making my life happy again. If I go a long period of time without doing any of these relaxing things I can become a real biatch and basically be horrible to be around because my anxiety starts to control me. So let’s begin! 

Yoga 


Yoga is naturally a relaxing practice. I must say though, I have only ever been to one yoga class. I usually either use an app on my phone or jump on YouTube. I’m very self-conscious when I exercise so I don’t particularly like doing group classes, I’d rather just do it by myself or with my partner. I guess I feel like if I’m going to make a fool of myself, because I quite often do during yoga, I’d rather do it at home. The app I use most is FitStar Yoga. Their ‘Happy Hips’ freestyle routine is my current favourite. Gives my back, legs and hips a nice stretch. 

Climb A Mountain 


There is something super satisfying to me about climbing a mountain. It takes a lot of hard work, perseverance, strength and mind over matter to climb a mountain. A bit like life I guess. At the end of it though, the sense of accomplishment is overwhelming and the view is pretty great too.

Fail Videos


I’m a sucker for fail videos. Just last night my partner and I were cuddled up on the couch watching these videos and I haven’t laughed so hard in ages! You know that stage you get to when you’re laughing so hard you can barely breathe? That was me last night, much to my partner’s amusement. I may have also been slightly tipsy…

Hot Bath


I am in desperate need of a hot bath with some candles and a lush bath bomb. Since our new place only has a shower I haven’t had a soak in months and I NEED one. ASAP. Soaking in a hot bath gives me a chance to escape and chill out for an hour or so. However, because I’m quite tall, actually finding a bath I can fit my shoulders, boobs and knees in all at once is insane. I think the last time that happened was when we went away for the weekend last year. I’m dreaming of having a hot soak. 

Watching The Sunrise 


There is something so refreshing about watching the sunrise. To me it signifies a fresh start, it’s a brand new day. Having anxiety can mean I quite often overthink things that happened in the past and the sunrise always calms my thoughts and reminds me to not live in the past. 
How do you relax? What’s your favourite way to relax? Don’t forget from the 19th to the 21st of August I am giving up food for the 40-hour famine. If you haven’t donated yet and you’ve got a bit of spare money I would really appreciate you donating to a truly worthy cause. Click the link to donate now! Have a wonderful week! 
-A. 

Leave a Reply

