Dumplings & Day Trips

The weekend goes so quickly when you’re having fun, and mine sure was! Let’s start at Friday night where after work and yet another Doctor’s appointment (insert sad face) I was able to come home to my man and snuggle on the couch with a much needed glass of wine. I’m one of those people who tries to only drink on Friday and Saturday, so if I’ve had a tough week at work, I’m hanging for that glass of wine, or Jack Daniels, when I get home. For some reason though I wasn’t really feeling the wine so I decided on a pre-mix drink I had in the fridge. I’ve recently discovered these drinks that I love from Bundaberg Rum. They are 500 mL ready to drink glass bottles and I’ve tried two of the three flavours they have available. Dark and Stormy is Bundaberg Rum mixed with Bundaberg Ginger Beer. My favourite though, is Smooth and Shifty which is Bundaberg Rum mixed with Bundaberg Sarsparilla. Seriously delicious! I can’t wait for some warmer weather and having it over some ice at a BBQ… I can dream right? I’ve linked the Bundaberg Rum drinks to the Dan Murphy’s website if you want to check it out.

 

Saturday brought dance exams for me first up and then followed by my students throughout the morning. Apart from almost passing out due to lack of oxygen from having a blocked nose I think I did well… But my students, absolutely AMAZING! I could not be prouder! After work I had an optometrist appointment and discovered my eyes have gotten worse again. Basically, without my glasses one eye sees higher than the other, so they need to put prism in my glasses to correct it so I don’t have double vision. I ended up picking up these Country Road ones for my reading glasses.

 

25671285-ortho-940x529

 

Then I picked these Alex Perry ones for my sunglasses. These photo’s are from the Specsavers website.

 

30374713-ortho-940x529

 

I pick the same shaped reading glasses every year. They always get me to try on different shapes and I give it a go because I figure who knows what it’s going to look like until it’s actually on my face. But oh my Lordy, some frame shapes just do not suit me, at all! I’ve tried round and cat eye shapes, and even metal frames and they just look weird on me. My reading glasses have to be a square-ish shape where the top, outside corners sit out a bit further. Don’t ask me why, but they just suit me the best. On to the sunglasses, for some reason I really struggled finding sunglasses yesterday. I swear I tried on almost every pair in the store until the shop assistant magically found these ones and I fell in love! I don’t know whether I’ve got a big head or face but the sunglasses just seemed too small in comparison to my face. I think it’s also because I like sunglasses that cover my eyebrows because I think it looks really odd on me when my eyebrows are sitting fully above the frames. But anyway, I should be collecting them and getting them fitted in about 10 days so I will post pictures on my Instagram when I get them.

 

After getting home I decided that we were in desperate need of a date night. We travelled all the way into Brisbane to go to Eat Street Markets. We haven’t been in a while but I was shocked to see they had put the entry up to $2.50. I couldn’t believe it! I remember when Eat Street Markets first opened and it was free entry, but that’s no more. I was even happy with the gold coin donation they did for a while. But $2.50, just to get in after spending at least 20 minutes finding a park, only to get in and spend more money on delicious food is just overkill and a little bit greedy in my opinion. On Saturday’s I get to have a cheat meal. It can be up to three courses but I didn’t want to overdo it, because I knew I was going to have some amazing creation for dessert. After walking around for ages and ages, dodging and running into multiple people, I decided to get my dinner from Funky Dragon Dumplings. I ended up getting some Prawn and Pork Dumplings, a Steamed Pork Bun and two Vegetarian spring rolls. My partner got a Triple R burger and chips from Redgate Farm to Fork that smelled delicious. We decided to head on over to Kombi Lane to get a Conut from Chocolate Komberry Co. . What’s a Conut you ask? Well a Conut is soft serve ice cream swirled into a Cronut cone. On Saturday night they had hazelnut ice-cream and it was so creamy and delicious. I would’ve taken my own picture but I literally had ice-cream running down my arm so it was gone before I got a chance to take a photo. If you’re confused here’s a picture from their Facebook page (which I have linked above).

 

 

14088623_575447309283346_3232096899433902317_n

Credit: @crystalgan_jin

This morning we had to get up early for a road trip down to Mt. Tamborine and Hinze Dam on the Gold Coast. As you can imagine I was not impressed by the alarm going off at 5.30 am, so much so I just rolled over and stole all the blankets. Muahahaha! I eventually got up literally 10 minutes before we were due to be picked up and just managed to see the sunrise this morning. Score! Ever since I was involved in a car accident last year on Mt. Glorious, I have been pretty sketchy when it comes to mountain driving. My palms were sweating and I couldn’t look at the road, all because I was a passenger. If I am the person driving on a mountain, I am completely fine because I am in control. When I’m a passenger I freak out and try to brake because I can’t control the car. Damn anxiety… While in the car though I discovered a heap of new Instagram accounts because I was using it as a distraction. I love finding new accounts to follow and new business to buy stuff from!

 

After finishing this blog post it is time to finally catch up on some study. For some reason I was sent workbooks I had already completed so I have had literally nothing to do for two whole weeks. I just want to get it done!

 

Have a great rest of your weekend and I will catch up with you next week!

 

-A.

 

Leave a Reply

