The Five Things My Dad Taught Me

Hello everyone! Happy Father’s Day to all the Dad’s, Grandpa’s, Father’s-to-be, Father figures and single Mum’s doing double duty. You are all amazing and as equally important as each other. But, I would like to wish my amazing Dad a Happy Father’s Day and I hope you enjoyed your day with the family.

 

While growing up my Dad taught me many valuable lessons. Some from mistakes I’ve made, and some he has just passed down from his own experiences. I thought today would be the perfect day to share The Top Five Things My Dad Has Taught Me. Love you Dad!

 

Save your money – My Dad has either been working in the bank or owning his own finance/mortgage business for my whole life. He has always worked with money and he has always encouraged me to save. From saving my pocket money when I was much younger to buy a new game, to saving money from work to buy a car or go on an overseas trip. It has always been save, save, save. And because of that, I’ve been able to have the satisfaction of buying things for myself, as well as having the ability to take part in so many amazing experiences.

 

Set goals & achieve them – At the start of this year my Dad, at 46 years old, set a goal to do 12 half marathons in 12 months. He achieved that goal by the start of August, so he then set a goal to ride 200 km. I swear he is part-crazy, but I am so proud of him and he has taught me that you can do anything when you put your mind to it. About 5 years ago my Dad lost around 30 kg and was an absolute inspiration to me. He wanted to be fit and healthy again, so he just did it. Which brings me to my next point.

 

Just do it – With my Dad being a massive basketball fan, I heard this a lot, but it still rings true. When it was Dad’s turn to teach me to drive, that’s what I constantly heard over and over. There’s no point tip-toeing through life because you are scared to do something. If you want something or you need something to be done, just jump in and do it. Sometimes you have to jump in the deep end and learn to swim, but you’ll always come out stronger because of it.

 

Always carry a hanky – I swear my Dad always carries a hanky in his pocket. I rarely see him without one. Whether you’ve got a cold, had a few tears or you need to wrap something up, Dad would always have a hanky on hand because let’s be real, tissues disintegrate and then they don’t do the job.

 

Take photos – My Dad is the selfie-King and I’m proud. He takes photos of everything and you can always count on him to document important milestones and events. Every time Mum and Dad go out he always posts a photo. He has taught me the importance of documenting memories and sharing new experiences with friends and family. I love seeing his photos, especially when they are on holiday.

 

What’s the best piece of advice your Dad (or other Father figure) gave you?

 

Dad, you are so amazing and I love you so, so much! Thank you for your constant love and support. I hope you had a wonderful day!

 

-A.

Leave a Reply

