If you change nothing, nothing will change.

Change is all around us, it is a part of life. Some of us deal with it well, some don’t. I’ll be honest, most of the time I don’t deal with change very well but I’ve learnt that change is a fact of life and it shapes us into different and stronger people most of the time. Change isn’t always bad, sometimes it is good, sometimes it’s a mixture of both. The decisions and events that occur in each day change who we were, who we currently are and who we are becoming. There are so many variables that affect our future and I think people just need a little reminder that not everyone is the same and not everyone deals with things in the same way.

 

When major change happens to me personally, I get anxious because it is not what I had planned. I like to plan things WAY in advance so it really bothers me when things don’t go the way I had planned, like conversations for example. I can’t be the only one that does this, right? Whenever I need to have an important conversation with someone I role play the scenario in my head, trying to come up with all the possible things that could be said so that I am prepared. This never works. I’m usually thrown off guard or my brain forgets everything and I have no confidence. I end up agreeing or apologising, even when I want to stand up for myself. I am learning that life changes in the blink of an eye and sometimes you just have to pull your pants down and slide on the ice.

 

I take a while to process change, particularly if it is unexpected. It’s like when you move into a new house. You run into a few walls while you’re figuring out where everything is and what’s the best fit for you for a few weeks. All I do now is take a few deep breaths, talk it out with someone I trust and then decide what is best for me. There are times when you are the one that has to or chooses to make the change. Like the title of this blog post says, if you change nothing, nothing will change. If there is a situation that is upsetting you or making you feel unhappy, change it. Every person has the ability to do that. Now, the change may not happen overnight, but if you work at it, it will happen. At the moment I am working on my mental and physical health. I am aiming to walk or do yoga for 30 minutes a day and I have done this everyday for the past two weeks. Alongside a healthy diet, I am making positive changes for my physical health while also cleaning up my mental health. Just 30 minutes of walking is making the world of difference. Read more about how I keep a positive mindset here.

 

Sometimes changes have been planned, like moving house. Earlier this year my partner and I moved out of home and that was one of the biggest changes I have experienced. Not only was I moving out of home, I was becoming pretty much completely independent for the first time. It was a shock to the system to say the least, and we’ve hit a few walls but now that the anxious period has settled, I couldn’t be happier. I believe I am a stronger person because of moving out and I’ve definitely learnt to budget really well!!

 

Lastly is unexpected change. Unexpected change is my least favourite because it’s out of the blue and is usually sprung upon us from an outside source, for example, a person or event. This one causes me to become the most anxious but slowly and surely I am becoming better and more capable in dealing with it. Like I said earlier, all it takes now is a few deep breaths and a conversation and I can move forward without overthinking it.

 

Take a moment to reflect on and examine the changes in your life. How have they made you and your life different? Are you currently making positive changes in your life? Leave a comment on my Facebook, Instagram or this post! See you next week!

 

-A.

Leave a Reply

