I joined a gym.

Following on with my little positivity theme I’ve got going on, I am making positive changes to help me live my better life as it was part of my goal when starting this blog. Now I know what some of you are thinking. ‘She’s been preaching body positivity, accepting yourself and being beautiful the way you are and now she’s gone and joined a gym? What the heck?!‘ Now, I still totally believe in body positivity and believing that you’re beautiful, however, I read a quote a few months agoย that hit home for me.

 

Love yourself enough to live a healthy lifestyle.

 

Now I don’t want to offend anyone, and Iย sincerely apologise if I do. When I read this quote I was at a fairly low point in my life. I was trying to spread body positivity but I wasn’t happy in myself. I was unhappy with how I looked and I had ongoing health issues that I was letting get the better of me. I felt like there was nothing I could do and I was just letting myself go. I wasn’t looking after my body and it certainly wasn’t healthy. I got a big wake up call just before I had an exploratory procedure done in the middle of August just gone. I had to weigh myself before the procedure and I almost cried. I knew I had gained weight but I didn’t realise how much. In about 18 months (from the start of 2015) I had gained close to 30 kg and I was the most miserable I have ever been. I wanted to make a change and that awful shock was the kick-start I needed.

 

The day after that procedure I completely changed my diet, I cut out all the excess crap and bad foods and began a diet plan. It’s working for me and isn’t causing me any gut issues which is nice for a change. I had to slightly change it a bit because it does include bread and starchy food and I try to avoid them as much as possible because I know the pain it causes. I am happy to say that I have lost weight on this diet plan, I’m coming up to 5 kg lost which is amazing for me! I’ll say it, I am proud of myself. I am strict on my diet and it’s paying off. The hard days get easier the closer I getย towards my goal.

 

Now, why did I join a gym? Last year I was at a gym and it was my stress relief. It’s where I went when I had a bad day and I just needed to push myself and work it out. I loved seeing the improvements I made when I went to each session and I wanted that feeling back. The reason I had to leave gym was because I needed to put my health first so this time I am going to be working alongside my doctor and trainer to ensure I don’t run myself into the ground again.

 

I want to live my better life and I want to improve every day. That is why I am loving myself enough to live a healthy lifestyle. I am choosing to make the positive changes I need to so that I can be the best version of myself. The gym I have chosen to go to is amazing. It is spacious, has classes and a women’s only area, which I love! I have a PT consultation next week and I am so excited to start this new chapter of my life. The staff are all really supportive and I will keep you updated with my progress.

 

-A.

3 thoughts on “I joined a gym.

Leave a Reply

