I wish you enough.

Birthday’s are the time of year to reflect on the past, appreciate the present and look forward to the future. Today I celebrated my 21st birthday and I thought today would be a good time to reflect and appreciate. I am so incredibly blessed to be surrounded by an amazing and supportive group of people and that was definitely brought to my attention at my party last night. I felt so much warmth and love in the room while being surrounded by the people who love me for being me. Twenty one is an important milestone in anyone’s life and there are a few people I need to thank who have been with me along this journey called life.

 

Firstly I want to thank my wonderful parents. You have been there for me from day one. You have loved and supported me my whole life and have always been a rock for me to stand on through the hard times. From schooling life, to dance classes, to overseas trips, buying a car, dealing with anxiety, moving out of home, overcoming health issues and starting this blog, you have encouraged and supported every choice I have made. You encourage me to be the best person I can and are with me every step of the way. You have helped me overcome so many hardships, particularly in the last two years, but everything has shaped me into the woman I am today. Thank you for all the help, guidance and advice you share and for everything you do for me. I love you!

 

To my sister, I wanted to thank you for being you. You are the one that keeps me wild, and I’m the one that keeps you safe. I will always be there for you like you will always be there for me. Your speech last night was so incredibly beautiful. You putting into words what you think of me made me cry like a baby and it makes me so happy that I can be a sister you can look up to. We may not always get along but at the end of the day you’re my sister and I am so proud of you. You’re the best sister I could’ve asked for.

 

To my loving partner, thank you for everything you do for me. The last two years have certainly been a rollercoaster for us but it has made us stronger and better people. I am so lucky to be with someone as loving, kind and caring as you. You are my rock, the person that keeps me safe and calm and sometimes drive me crazy (in a good way). You always support me without fail and never question my dreams and goals. You push me to be a better person, just like I do with you. We are the perfect team and I am forever thankful that you are in my life.

 

To my extended family, aunts, uncles, cousins and grandparents, you are the best, crazy bunch of people I am blessed to call my family. Whenever we get together we just form a perfect blend of love and fun and I am so thankful to have grown up in such a close-knit family. Although we don’t see each other that often, when we get together it is like nothing has changed and there is always lots of laughter. Thank you for supporting me and loving me my whole life!

 

To all my family friends, we may not be related by blood but you are all family to me. You have been there through all my important milestones and have celebrated all my successes alongside me. Some of you have been my family since before I was born, some have joined the family later in life. You are all so wonderful and I’m lucky to have friends like you.

 

To my school friends, the ones that kept me sane through high school. I was worried that as we went our separate ways after graduating that things would change and we would barely see each other, but I was wrong! I am so lucky to have gone to school with these amazing friends and every time we catch up, it’s like no time has passed. I am so proud of all of the school friends I have kept in contact with, they are all going to do amazing things with their life. Thank you for loving me and being my friend, I am forever grateful to have known you.

 

To my dancing family, you are another group of people who may not be related by blood but you are definitely family to me. Some of you have known me for the whole (almost) 16 years I have been dancing for, some less, but you are all family to me. The last 16 years at dancing has been a rollercoaster for me and going from a student to an instructor has allowed me to pass on my knowledge to my students. I am so lucky to be a part of this dance family and you have all been with me for every up and down in my life and have always been there for me. Whether it’s someone to share my success, a shoulder to cry on or someone to have a glass of bubbly with, I know you will be there for me and I can’t wait to see what the future holds.

 

To the friends I call family, we may not have known each other our whole lives but it certainly feels like we have. You guys are just a perfect mix of crazy, loud and fun that it isn’t surprising that you have jumped straight into the family. You guys are always there for me no matter what the issue is and I can’t wait until we are old and grey and still partying on. Thank you for everything.

 

To my childcare family, thank you for teaching me so many new things and encouraging my love of learning. You girls are like family to me, which isn’t surprising when some days I spend more time at work than I do at home! Thank you for all your love, support, stories and advice. You have made the last three years achievable and I’m so glad I quit uni and starting working in this industry. It is definitely one of the best decisions I have made, so thank you for always being there.

 

Last night was a night I will never forget. Everything went to plan and there weren’t too many tears! Again, I am so lucky to have such an amazing group of people around me that love and support me through everything. Thank you everyone for celebrating my 21st with me and I’m so excited for what the future holds! I can’t wait!

 

I just wanted to quickly share a quote from my Mum’s speech last night to remind you to live a life with just enough good things to sustain you.

 

I Wish You Enough

I wish you enough sun to keep your attitude bright.

I wish you enough rain to appreciate the sun more. 

I wish you enough happiness to keep your spirit alive.

I wish you enough pain so that the smallest joys in life appear much bigger.

I wish you enough gain to satisfy your wanting. 

I wish you enough loss to appreciate all you possess.

I wish you enough hello’s to get you through the final good-bye.

I love you and I wish you enough.

Have a wonderful week and I wish you enough!

 

-A.

 

 

Leave a Reply

