Stress Less

I don’t know about you but the holiday season always comes around with some extra baggage called stress. Do I have enough money? What am I going to get them? Planning the multiple catch ups with everyone. Hoping you haven’t forgotten any Christmas presents. Β Unfortunately, the more I stress, the more my IBS and anxiety plays up so I thought I would share with you some ways I deal with stress in a hope it might help you as well!

 

Exercise always makes me feel better. Even if it’s just a 20 minute walk around the block, getting my blood pumping lifts my mood and helps me deal with any issues. Since starting at gym I personally have noticed a dramatic positive increase in my mood and whenever I’m feeling stressed or lacking energy, I know a gym workout is going to help. Also, the fact that I am starting to see results continues to motivate me to keep going, things always turn around.

 

I’m pretty sure I’ve talked about this before in a previous blog post or on Instagram, but my psychologist taught me how to practice mindful breathing. Mindful breathing is taking some time out of your day to sit in a quiet area and focus on your breathing. It’s about noticing air going in and out of your body. I find this tool really useful when I feel myself starting to get stressed or anxious. I stop what I am doing, breathe in for 4 seconds, hold for 4 seconds and then breathe out for 4 seconds. This helps slow my thoughts and my heart rate and allows me to deal with different obstacles.

 

Taking the time out to watch a movie, particularly at the cinema can be pretty hard to do at this time of year but I find it helps me. The reason I think it helps me so much is because I am not looking at my phone for 2-4 hours and I can just focus on one thing, the movie. Being a classic over-thinker, my brain pretty much always goes at a million miles an hour but when I go to the movies, I am able to just focus on that movie and not worry about anything else.

 

If you’re feeling stressed talk to someone, otherwise you’re going to explode like a shaken bottle of champagne. Whether you talk to your parents, your siblings, your partner, a doctor or psychologist, getting it out of your system will help clear your thoughts. That’s part of the reason I started The Bear and Me, to get things out of my head and out in the open. It helps me think more clearly and not get too stressed out from over thinking.

 

Lastly, the beach. I think the beach is a lot of people’s happy place. The sand between your toes, the crashing waves and the salty air always have a relaxing effect on me. I’m lucky enough to live in a beautiful area where I am spoilt for choice of so many amazing beaches within such a close range. I cannot wait to be on holidays and spend long days at the beach and get rid of this awful T-shirt tan I’ve gotten from being at work.

 

What do you do to help yourself stress less? Have you tried any of these before? Let me know! Sorry this post is being published a little earlier than usual, I have a BBQ catch up with my school friends that I am extremely excited for this afternoon! Gotta love a good old BBQ on a Sunday afternoon hey?!

 

-A.

One thought on “Stress Less

Leave a Reply

