Find Your Tribe

“You know, the ones that make you feel the most YOU. The ones that lift you up and help you remember who you really are. The ones that remind you that a blip in the road is just that, a blip. They are the ones that when you walk out of a room, they make you feel like a better person than when you walked in. They are the ones that even if you don’t see them face to face as often as you’d like, you see them heart to heart. You know, that kind of tribe? Who’s your tribe?”

– Quote from Pinterest –

Find your tribe and love them hard. It’s a quote I recently found that hit home for me. To me, a tribe is a group of people who are like family. They support you through everything – the good and the bad, they love you no matter what and they make you a better person. I have learnt this year that being around negative people and negative energy is just a waste of my time. I shouldn’t have to spend my time around people who bring me down and make my anxiety worse, that’s not how I want to live my life. I want to be around the people who lift me up, the people that never fail to make me smile and the people I call ‘My Dance Family’.

For the past sixteen years I have danced with FAD Cheer and Dance (originally Fitness and Dance)  and I have met SO many amazing people in that time. Some of these people I have known for the whole 16 years, some less than that, but they are all people I hold close to my heart. I love them like family and they are just the most amazing and supportive group of people I have ever met. When I first started at FAD I was just a little 4-year-old, soon to turn 5 that had a love of dancing. I still remember my first costume I ever got. It was Wonder Woman and it was quite frankly amazing. As the years went on they added more classes. Hip Hop, Cheerleading and Competition Teams to be specific. And of course, I wanted to do it all – sorry Mum! For years I was out 3 or more times a week doing multiple classes and trying to fit in all my school work. And then came competitions, what an amazing, crazy, stressful, emotional and fantastic experience that was!

I did competitions as part of FAD Brisbane North in Jazz, Hip Hop and Cheerleading. Once I turned 18 I had to give up cheer which was very hard for me to do but funnily enough, after I stopped cheer, I barely got any injuries. Whoever said cheerleading isn’t a dangerous sport has something seriously wrong with them. In 2013 I was lucky enough to be offered the opportunity to become an Instructor at FAD. In the last four years I have taught so many absolutely amazing and talented students and I am so, so blessed to know every single one of them. Since becoming an Instructor, my relationship with my tribe has become even stronger and every single one of them is family to me.

Dance has always been a passion of mine and it is something that I plan to continue for many years to come! Look out Ladies – you’ll see me in your class in a few years time!  I am so lucky to be surrounded my so many loving and inspiring people and thank you so much for being in my life! I could never thank you enough for your love and support through everything! I love you all and I can’t wait for 2017!!! Good things are coming!

-A.

 

2 thoughts on “Find Your Tribe

Leave a Reply

