I Am Thankful

As 2016 draws to a close, I’ve had some time to look back and reflect on this past year. In all honesty, and I know a lot of my readers will agree with me, 2016 has been a shitty year. I have overcome so many obstacles this year but that isn’t what this post is about. This post is about everything I have been thankful over the past year, despite all the crap in between.

 

I am thankful for the constant and ongoing support of my wonderful partner. He has been there through everything this year. He’s been there when I have come home crying from work, he’s been there when I’ve been doubled over in pain when my IBS has been flaring up and been there for my emotional, stress-induced breakdowns. But, with the bad times comes the good times and we’ve had so many of them. Spontaneous trips up the beach, a weekend away at a Balinese retreat and lazing around on Sunday mornings to name a few. I am thankful for the love, kindness and patience you have given me and I just know 2017 is going to be much better.

 

I am thankful for the advice and guidance my family has given me this year. Through all the hard times they’ve always been there to provide the advice I need and to guide me through some big decisions this year. Moving out of home was a big milestone for me and I wouldn’t have been able to get through it without the support of family.

 

I am thankful for the opportunities I have been given. I have developed friendships with some amazing people since starting The Bear and Me, people I would never have met without it! Now that I have finally finished my Diploma (yay!) I am able to focus on some amazing things planed for 2017. You’ll hear more about that later…

 

I am thankful for my friends who are always there for a chat when I need it, or when I just want to talk about something great that has happened. I am thankful I have been able to catch up with a few more school friends this year and re-kindle some old friendships. I am thankful that my health is slowly but surely turning around. I am thankful that I have made the decision to exercise for my mental health. It has made such a huge difference the last few weeks when I was really weighed down by some tough challenges.

 

And last but not least, I am thankful to everyone who has continued to read my blog this year. I’ll admit, some posts haven’t been my best work, but I’ve always enjoyed writing them. Knowing that there are people out there who actually want to read what I write about is such great motivation for me. It makes me want to continue to improve my writing skills and write about bigger and better things.

 

So thank you everyone! 2017 is going to bring better things! I’m not sure when I’ll be posting next week as it will be Christmas! How crazy is that! But, I am going to be trying out some FODMAP Friendly Christmas treats next week so I may post them up during the week!

 

-A.

Leave a Reply

