New Year, Better Me.

Is it just me or did 2016 fly past in the blink of an eye? Here we are, my first blog post of 2017! A fresh start, a brand new year! Last night I said a massive toodle-loo to 2016 because I could not wait for it to be over. With all the health issuesΒ I dealt with- mental and physical, moving out of home and my partner’s motorcycle accident, 2016 was not our year, but, I am determined that 2017 is going to be.

 

I am not a big believer in New Years Resolutions because most of the time its the 31st of January and you’ve already broken 90% of them. Well, that’s what I’m like anyway! I’d rather have focuses and achievable goals than forcing myself to lose a certain amount of weight or drink less coffee (cause that ain’t going to happen!) or whatever the resolution may be. This year is going to be all about me. I’m going to focus on my health, both physical and mental. Focusing on my physical health isn’t about me getting down to a size 12 or losing 30 kg, it’s about improving my fitness and strength by going to the gym regularly. And if I lose weight in the process, whoopee to me, but I am not going to beat myself up or starve myself if I am not losing weight. That also means when I am sick or exhausted, I am not going to punish my body further by forcing myself to go to gym. I am going to focus on my mental health by practising mindfulness and relaxation techniques more often, and not carrying the weight of everyone’s problems on my shoulders. I am not going to worry about things I cannot change and I’m going to accept that I can’t help everyone. This year, I am doing me.

 

I believe a new year symbolises a fresh start, a chance to rewrite your story. You have the opportunity to make a change, not just because it’s January 1st, but because every day you wake up you have a choice to make. You choose to get up, you choose to eat breakfast, you choose to go outside. Each day is a chance to make a change, whether that be within yourself or for someone else, you just have to make that choice. In just over a week I am starting my new job and I am so incredibly excited and motivated to join their team. I was offered my first full-time job which I accepted. It was a big decision for me but at the end of the day, I knew 2017 was going to be my year and I had to put myself first. I see this as a huge step forward for me; my first full time job is a big accomplishment for me seeing as for the past 6 years I have only ever been hired as a casual or for part-time work. I am proud of myself for working my butt off in 2015 and 2016 to get my Diploma done. I loved learning, I still do, and I am already coming up with ideas of what I am going to study next! But that isn’t my focus this year. I am going to have a break from studying and focus on me, my blog and my life with my partner.

 

2017 is going to be great. I can’t wait to continue growing The Bear and Me, hopefully doing collaborations with other bloggers in the near future. I can’t wait to start working on a long-term project that focuses on me and also my want to help others. I hope you all had a fantastic Christmas and New Years and are enjoying your free time! What is your focus for 2017? Let me know!

 

-A.

 

 

Leave a Reply

