Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane – Mini Getaway

This weekend as a little surprise to my partner, I planned a weekend away in the city. I was going to keep it a secret until we got there but someone forgot they had a ride planned for Saturday so I had to tell him on Thursday. We stayed at the Swiss-Belhotel in South Brisbane. The room was so spacious and yes, it had a bath! 

Let me tell you more about the room. We were on the 4th floor, unfortunately we didn’t have the best view, we were looking at the hospital, but we did get glimpses of the river. When I was having a soak in the bath on Friday afternoon we heard a helicopter land on the hospital roof. I just sat there thinking, don’t think about it, don’t think about it. Luckily we didn’t hear any more. The opposite side of the hotel had full river views so when we go back, I will see if I can request a room on that side. The lack of view didn’t really bother me because when we were awake we were either out and about, in the bath or in bed. We had the softest and comfiest bed, and so much space because it was a King size bed. The room had a couch, armchair, desk and chair and plenty of storage. The wardrobe had sensor lights, when you opened the wardrobe door, the downlights in the wardrobe turned on. So good! The room also had a bar fridge and bar area, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, kettle, microwave and sink. All with mirrors behind them which made the room look even more luxurious. I’m pretty sure the bathroom was double or triple the size of our one at home as it had a huge bath and shower. The mirrors had lights on the outside which made it perfect for doing my makeup and the full length mirror at the door wasn’t bad for taking photos! The hotel has an indoor pool and gym. We used the pool this morning but it was a little cool for us so we went back upstairs to have a bath with the Lush bathbombs we bought yesterday. Enough about the room, I thought I would now share with you all the places we went. 

Indoor Pool

Vertical Garden

Hospital side view – looking right on balcony

River side view – looking left on balcony

Reading in the bath


On Friday evening we enjoyed nibbles and drinks at the hotel. It was my first wine in over two months, and yes I drank light sparkling. I didn’t feel sick or unwell the whole weekend, just a bit sluggish as I had both sugar and alcohol. I wasn’t going to make things even harder on myself while on holidays so I gave myself a mini break. After drinks we strolled on down to Southbank, which is only about a 5 minute walk to find somewhere to eat dinner. Unsurprisingly, most places were closed but we found a place called Bourbon Street. 


Bourbon Street is a New Orleans style American restaurant on Grey Street. The wait staff and bar staff were excellent, the food was great but we did have to wait 45 minutes – 1 hour to get our food. We found out the next day after leaving a review that they are breaking in a new kitchen crew and they only started this week so things are still a little sketchy. The food was good but the music, a live pianist, is what made the atmosphere pleasant. 


The next morning we went to Southbank Cineplex. You know, the big cinema in Southbank to watch The Fate of the Furious. It was a good movie but they need to stop them soon. The tickets were only $9 and I honestly had forgotten how huge the cinema was. We’ll definitely be back. We then walked over to Queen St to get some Lush Bathbombs. We had a bit of a wander around and had lunch at Jimmy’s on the Mall. The food was pretty average, nothing to rave about. We then walked all the way back to the hotel, by that point I had already done 10,000 steps and we hadn’t even started our walking dinner! 

Our first stop was Manhattan Line for drinks. Manhattan Line is an American style Whiskey & Bourbon Bar. The music was fantastic, and I mean that, and the drinks were even better. I had a Lynchburg Lemonade to start with then had a Jack Daniels Single Barrel. So smooth! 

Single Barrel Jack Daniels

Lynchburg Lemonade

We then decided to head towards Harajuku Gyoza but ended up walking in the wrong direction so we went to San Kai Japanese restaurant instead. I had gyoza and Luke had karaage. After that, Luke felt like pasta but pasta places are a bit tricky for me and every one we found had at least a 15 minute wait. We ended up at a burger place called Brooklyn Depot. We saw this place earlier in the day and were intrigued to try it. To drink, I got a Harlem Shake which is Malibu, Midori, lime juice and kiwi fruit purée. Luke got one of their signature milkshakes called My Man. Luke didn’t get the alcoholic version, but you can liqueurs put into their milkshakes. It was so thick and chocolate-y, I can see why they have awards for their shakes! We both ordered The Depot Burger, mine was bunless – Gluten Free life – and Luke’s was normal. We didn’t finish our meal and we were practically rolling ourselves back to the hotel. Partially thanks to my poor shoe choice that left me with blisters. We were too full for dessert, I know, shock horror, but we couldn’t fit a single other thing in. We crashed into bed almost immediately and had a bit of a lie-in this morning, because of course my body was up at 5.30am.

The Depot Burger

Bunless Depot Burger

Harlem Shake

My Man

We decided to just hang out at the hotel this morning, so we didn’t do too much today. After I finish icing a cake, we’ll be going to my parents house for Sunday dinner, like we do pretty much every Sunday. I am really looking forward to it. 

What are your plans for the rest of the long weekend? Tomorrow’s plans are to exercise, do washing and watch movies. It’ll be great! Hope you all had a fantastic long weekend and if you want any more details about the hotel or the places we went, leave a comment! 

-A. 

Leave a Reply

