Meal Prep: We’re giving it a go! 

For a while now I’ve been reading lot’s about meal prepping. Fail to prepare, prepare to fail. It’s not that we’ve been struggling with the healthy eating, we’ve been pretty good so far, it’s the lack of time on weeknights. Both of us don’t usually get home until 5 or 6 pm and by the time we’ve settled in, unpacked our bags and cooked dinner, it’s close to 7.30 before we’re sitting down to eat. And when we’re in bed by 9/9.30, I felt like we weren’t getting much quality time together. This is why we came to the decision to meal prep.
Off to the shops we went to buy the fortnights worth of meat, vegetables and all the other bits and bobs. I got the amount of meat on the money but definitely did not buy enough vegetables! I ended up having to go out and buy more. At least I’ll know for next time! We bought pork roast, beef mince, chicken mince, chicken drumsticks, chicken breast, lamb chop, pork chop and steak. 
I used the chicken drumsticks as snacks as I need to up my protein and reduce my carbs. The other meals I made were spaghetti bolognese with zucchini, roast pork and roast veg, curry chicken and veg, chicken rissoles with spinach and egg, lamb chop and veg, steak and veg, roast chicken and veg and pork chop with rice and veg. Yes I know, lots and lots of vegetables! I also made chicken and spinach frittatas for breakfast. 
It did take pretty much all of last Sunday but my oh my, it’s definitely been worth it! We meal prepped our lunches and dinners for two weeks and ended up making 46 meals which will end up lasting us just over a fortnight. All up it cost $183.47. Making each meal less than $4! Only four meals used rice so I think less than $4 for majority meat and vegetable meals is pretty good! And trust me, I’m not stingy with servings of vegetables! 

We are now eating dinner at a more reasonable time, and spending more time together which I love! 
What do you do to make weeknights easier? I can only imagine what it’s going to be like in 5 or so years time! 
– A. 

Leave a Reply

