Enough is enough

Unless you have been living under a rock for the past week, at some point or another you would’ve heard about the marriage equality debate going on in Australian Parliament this week. Whether you’ve seen it on Facebook, Instagram, on TV, read it in the newspaper or heard it on the radio, it’s been headlining all week. Let’s get one thing straight right now, I am absolutely, 100% forΒ marriage equality. If you hadn’t picked up, I’m preferring to use the term marriage equality because the term same-sex marriage insinuates it’s different to marriage, and it’s not. I do not believe anyone should be discriminated against for who they love. In a perfect world, no one should be discriminated against at all but that it a whole other kettle of fish that we are just going to leave for today. Today I am talking about marriage equality.

 

The things I have read on Facebook this week in regards to marriage equality have honestly shocked me, they really shouldn’t because I know how horrible some people can be, but I guess the good person with morals inside me thought that people would have some sort of respect I guess. Some people are saying the most awful things, wishing death upon people for supporting marriage equality. Saying it is an abomination according to the Bible. But do you know what else is forbidden in the Bible, let me list some for you… Wearing jewellery, eating pork, masturbation, tearing your clothes, getting a tattoo, getting remarried after divorce, gossiping, pigging out on food every now and then, women speaking in Church, pre-marital sex, wearing polyester or any other fabric blends, eating certain seafood, round hair cuts, trimming your beard, divorce, eating fat, oh and of course being gay or lesbian.

 

2017-08-13 (1)_LI

2017-08-13_LI

Just look at these comments… And the caption on the photo, really?

 

Now, I know this is a sensitive topic, and I was in two minds about writing this blog post, partially because of what I’ve read other people are saying and partially because I’m not sure how people are going to take it. But it is something that I strongly support and in my opinion, the Government is wasting everyone’s time and money and being totally discriminatory (which IS ILLEGAL) but they’re getting away with it. If an employer didn’t hire you because you were part of the LGBTQIA (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Intersex and Asexual) community, it would be classed as discrimination. Same as if they didn’t hire you because you were a woman, a single parent, from another culture or had a disability. I’m not entirely sure where I stand from a religious perspective. I don’t even think I have a religion. I guess I’m sitting with the other 30% of the population that doesn’t affiliate with any religion according to the 2016 Australian Census. I believe that people are deserving of love. You should love and be loved in return. End of story.

 

What’s the worst that’s going to happen if marriage equality becomes legal, is it the fact that people who love each other are going to get married? Or is it that you will be invited to a *gasp* gay or lesbian wedding. It’s not like people are going to turn into cannibal’s when marriage equality is legalised. But apparently they’re the ones ruining the sanctity of marriage. No they’re not. The heterosexual people who get married and then divorced within 90 days are ruining it. But surprise, surprise, those people who got divorced are also going against the Bible. It’s like people pick and choose which rules to follow and which they conveniently forget about. Some of those forbidden rules in the Bible that I listed above are things people do on a regular basis. I can say I have done at least 10 of those, I haven’t had to trim my beard just yet.

 

Another thing people seem to be upset over is the fact that somewhere down the track, there will be children with two mums or two dads. They won’t be a normal family. The term normal family really irks me because I don’t believe there is such thing as a normal family. As a Childcare Educator, I see so many combinations of families and no family is the same as the one down the street. A normal family is not a Mum, Dad and two kids. There are so many combinations of families these days, what’s the difference if they have a Mum and a Dad, two Mums, two Dads or a single parent.

 

different-types-of-families_23-2147527855

 

I guess I’m just sharing my opinion on this issue. If you don’t agree with it that’s fine, but don’t be that person that tells people to die or hang themselves for supporting or taking part in marriage equality. Oh and also, even though the ‘glitter in the postal vote’ thing going around is fucking awesome, don’t do it. Your vote may not be counted as with all the screening these days they may mistake glitter for something much more harmful like anthrax. So be smart and vote YES, without the glitter.

 

-A.

 

Facebook: The Bear and Me // Instagram: @_thebearandme // Twitter: @_thebearandme // Pinterest: tbearandme – https://au.pinterest.com/tbearandme/

 

Blackbird (9).png

Leave a Reply

