To my love,

on

Relationships are not what everyone thinks it is. It’s not waking up early every, single morning to make breakfast and eat together – you rarely eat breakfast unless it’s the weekend. It’s not cuddling in bed together until both of you peacefully fall asleep – sleeping next to you is like a freaking sauna! It’s not a clean home and a homemade meal every day. It’s someone who steals all the covers (me). It’s sitting in separate rooms after a big fight. It’s the silent treatment. It’s wondering if you’ve made the right decision. It is, despite all of these things, the one thing you look forward to every day. It’s coming home to the same person everyday that you know loves and cares about you no matter what.

 

It’s laughing about the countless times we accidentally did something stupid, like when I thought the fridge was beeping when it was actually the dishwasher. It’s about cooking the easiest meal you can make and sitting down together at 8pm because we both had a crazy day. It’s when I have an emotional breakdown and you lay with me and hold me and you tell me that everything is going to be okay, I’ve got you. It’s when ‘Netflix and Chill’ actually means we sit down and watch Netflix together, which sometimes we don’t get to do very often. It’s you picking at your nails and it’s me leaving my bobby pins everywhere. It’s you cleaning my glasses and me carrying your wallet in my handbag. It’s making sure we arrive safe to wherever we are going. It’s about helping each other out with chores. It’s leaving love notes. It’s seeking advice from each other because you know they’ll tell the truth.

 

It’s annoying each other. It’s making spontaneous decisions to go climb a mountain. It’s always being by each others side. It’s you eating green vegetables, even though they’re not your favourite. It’s rolling over in the morning and knowing you are right there. It’s worry. It’s stress. It’s fun. It’s you trying out my new recipes, even though you may not like it. It’s working together as a team to achieve a common goal. It’s hi-5’s, butt grabs and back tickles. It’s cuddling on the couch drinking JD & Coke. It’s getting the couple seat at the cinema. It’s long hugs after a big day. It’s goodnight and good morning kisses. It’s holding hands. It’s about loving someone even though they drive you absolutely insane. Living with the person you love is never perfect, but we are perfect for each other. It’s hard work, but it’s amazing and comforting and the best thing I have experienced.

 

The past two years have certainly been a rollercoaster. It feels like yesterday that we met, yet I feel like I have known you forever. We have certainly had our fair share of ups and downs this year, we have both felt the stress and hardship of the crappy year we have both had. From your motorcycle accident to my ongoing health issues and everything in between, we have come out stronger and closer than before. We can always rely on each other to get through to tough times, and to be there to celebrate the successes. It’s supporting each other when starting new and exciting adventures. And lastly, it’s knowing that you’re my forever and always. I love you.

 

-A.

Leave a comment